Our Reviews

4.5
257 reviews
google logo
5
227
4
12
3
2
2
2
1
14
4.9
995 reviews
logo
5
925
4
40
3
13
2
8
1
10

Testimonials

Everyone is very nice and caring. They take the time to listen and answer any questions or concerns that I have had. I am glad I found such a family oriented Dr's office.
read more
Heather Finley Avatar
Heather Finley
5/13/2021
This is one of the best primary care in Howard county. The staff is very helpful, they amaze me each and every time!
read more
Sadiqa Ashraf Avatar
Sadiqa Ashraf
3/05/2021
I had a great experience with the NP at my visit. The staff was friendly and was able to get me in for a same day appt for a physical due to a cancellation! Definitely happy with my choice for primary care!
read more
Samantha Caesar Avatar
Samantha Caesar
9/05/2020
Dr. Alvi is a knowledgeable and amazing provider who cares deeply for her patients and employees. Thank you everyone in the office staff for being amazing too, your efforts are never unappreciated or overlooked!
read more
Ladane omar Avatar
Ladane omar
6/05/2021
I am a new patient to this practice and it has been such a joy so far. The ladies at the front desk are very kind and helpful. Due to my over due period of dental work I have to come in for multiple visits and they make sure I’m coming in as quickly as possible to get my mouth back in shape. And then we have the doctors and dental assistants. They to have been very kind. They are as gentle as possible when working on my mouth and walk me through step by step to make me feel very comfortable. The facility itself is also clean and has a lovely atmosphere. As long as they take my inisurance I am a permanent customer!!!!
read more
Karin Greene Avatar
Karin Greene
3/05/2019
I love this office. The staff is amazing. Very friendly and extremely clean office. Dr. Alvi has an amazing bed side manner and remembers her patients history very well. I would recommend Dr. Alvi and her staff to anyone who needs a primary care doctor.
read more
nicol Wentworth Avatar
nicol Wentworth
11/05/2020
When I arrived for my latest visit (almost twenty minutes late, due to a car issue), I was a complete “Train-wreck.” I needed treatment for a new injury badly. I was upset that everything, I tried, was gone or didn’t work. “Feeling like I was about to fly apart” at any second,” Jessica led me into a back room right away. Per usual, I began to settle down once I was inside their door.We proceeded to a treatment room where she routinely attaches a finger probe and takes my BP.Needless to say, my BP was up. This worsened my mood until Jess consoled me about the extra driving stress possibly being a causative factor.Soon after Dr. Alvi entered the room, I presented my new back/ pelvic injury, one which I had incurred since my last visit. ….I could walk; but it was a struggle. Many nights I couldn’t sleep on either side. The “pronounced-onset of pain” was delayed initially at first; when I began using whatever anti-inflammatory stuff I could find around my place. Although my condition was quite “painful;” I also had a scheduled appointment coming soon. Some of those first couple days after the injury, I really harbored no wish to go anywhere, anyway!Dr. Alvi ultimately diagnosed a “pinched sciatic nerve” and some tearing of lower pelvic tissue. She gave me some medicine and then continued on with routine discussion about my other disease states.By the time our meeting ended my mental attitude had reversed itself 180-degrees. Dr. Alvi must “put a spell on me” or something; every time I consult her.I wish to thank the FMWC for being here. Now I look forward to doctor appointments instead of dreading them.Upon leaving, an entering “disheveled distraught patient” walks out the front door feeling hope and optimism again, as the FMWC works it’s metamorphic magic on one of its customers!
read more
Lawrence Appel Avatar
Lawrence Appel
3/05/2018
The Family Medical Wellness Center is a very professional clinic. The doctors and the staff are very cordial and competent. I would recommend this center to all my friends and acquaintances.
read more
Syed Ameen Avatar
Syed Ameen
5/09/2021
Spranza was great, very thorough and did not rush appointment. Listened to all the issues I had and addressed how to deal with them by advice, referral and prescription. She was fantastic.
read more
Scabby Avatar
Scabby
8/05/2020
Family Medical and Dental is an overall great place for primary care! The ladies at the front desk are so friendly, sweet, and they remember everyone's names. Dr. Alvi is awesome and pretty fast and efficient. Definitely a family-friendly place. I, personally, think I need an orthopedic doctor for my right knee now but for any other ailments -- this location is wonderful.
read more
Anna Blendermann Avatar
Anna Blendermann
4/21/2021
The office staff is amazing! The dentist and all assistants go above and beyond. I am terrified of the dentist and by far, this was the best experience. From the office staff all the way to the dentist herself. My children are 3 and 5 had a cleaning and the staff treated them as royalty. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would. Super clean, amazing staff, impeccable service!
read more
Jennifer Kohan Avatar
Jennifer Kohan
3/05/2020
Great Customer Service, Friendly environment. 😃
read more
Deborah Bowman Avatar
Deborah Bowman
5/19/2023
My entire family have been patients of both the Family Medical Wellness Center and the Family Dental Wellness Centers. We couldn't be happier with the treatment and care we receive at both
read more
Philip Daigle Avatar
Philip Daigle
2/05/2021
Worst experience ever!! I made appointment online and be there on time. But when I showed up at the counter, the lady there, I don’t know what’s her problem, not only being very rude and try to ignore me, but also being very impolite by just saying I don’t have any doctor available to see you right now. She claimed that she sent out the email notification but there’s something wrong with the system so I never got the notification. And guess what, THERE WAS NOT EVEN AN APOLOGY!!!! I wasted my time by driving nearly 30min to get there, and I waited until 10:30 no eating anything for the blood draw! They will charge you no show fee while they did not have any make up even not an apology when they made mistake. If they dare charge me anything in any name, I will come back and give another comment for sure. 🙂
read more
MengYi Zhang Avatar
MengYi Zhang
2/27/2024
I appreciated Dr Alvi still being able to have my visit with me through televisit. She was thorough and we addressed any concerns i had. I have had a great experience with every visit ive had to her clinic. Everyone is so nice and helpful.
read more
Heather Finley Avatar
Heather Finley
7/05/2020
This physician provides an excellent care. The Staff members are awesome! I will recommend Dr. Alvi to anyone.
read more
Shola Johnson Avatar
Shola Johnson
3/05/2017
Really good experience. Felt personal even though it was through the phone. No complaints!
read more
Emily Avatar
Emily
8/05/2020
I feel so fortunate to have found Dr. Alvi and her staff when we moved to Columbia, MD. I had another good visit there today and always feel like Dr. Alvi and the whole staff wants to be helpful and professional.
read more
Anne Pillow Avatar
Anne Pillow
3/05/2024
Dr. Alvi and NP, Patricia Hayden are the best in the business. They are caring, compassionate and knowledgeable. The facility is clean and efficient. Friendly and helpful front desk.
read more
dani norsworthy Avatar
dani norsworthy
3/05/2019
Effective and efficient.
read more
Marla Peoples Avatar
Marla Peoples
3/27/2023
Very understanding, helpful and patient
read more
Jean Rosenberg Avatar
Jean Rosenberg
3/05/2016
Dr. Alvi is very thorough and detailed. Love the office ambiance, staff and care.
read more
Jewel Engerman-Glover Avatar
Jewel Engerman-Glover
12/05/2020
Dr. Alvi has always handled me with care. I have actually become healthier because of her. She works with her patients in finding solution that both are comfortable with. I highly recommend her.
read more
Tackya Hoilett Avatar
Tackya Hoilett
4/17/2023
The dr and staff are friendly and my daughter had a good experience with them.
read more
kim talbott Avatar
kim talbott
3/05/2017
Dr Alvi and everyone at Family Wellness Center are awesome!
read more
Sue Haas Avatar
Sue Haas
2/20/2023
*Long but important to read and consider*I must agree with some other reviewers regarding Dr. Azhar on the dental side of the house. Roughly 3 years ago, I started coming to this office after my insurance changed and my old dentist didn't accept it.I've always gone to the dentist twice a year. I would get sealants applied to my molars even as an adult. I did fluoride at most cleanings. I brush twice daily and floss. I eat a fairly healthy diet (not a lot of sugary foods, very rarely eat fast food or drink soda). My teeth have had some cavities in the past but not often.However, ever since coming to Dr. Azhar, she seems to find a cavity almost every single visit. And if she doesn't find something, she sees something that she wants to "watch" and sure enough on the next visit, she's saying I need another filling. During my last visit, I got a bigger red flag. She informed me that one of my teeth needs a crown.A crown might not be a big deal to some, but to me it is. To go from "just watching" to "you need a crown" is quite the jump. And this is a tooth she has filled before but now says there is cavity behind the filling. How is that so unless she didn't drill deep enough the first time?I showed my x-rays to another dentist and they have said that my teeth look adequately filled and didn't see a need for a crown.Besides this my husband has better teeth than me and very few fillings in the past. Yet he is experiencing the same thing with Dr. Azhar. Every visit she finds a cavity or something to watch. She also sold him a $200+ mouth guard to help with his grinding while he sleeps. This expensive piece cracked in less than 6 months (but is still wearable for now).Dr. Azhar forgot she already sold him a mouth guard and mentioned at his last visit he is really grinding his teeth and if he has a mouth guard. He said yes and when she asked where from, he said "from you". Then she says, "Oh good then. Keep wearing it!"Also, this is the first office I've been to that sells/offers you a numbing agent just for your cleaning. I've never heard of such a thing and decline it every time. It just seems over and over again that this office will do all they can to make more money even if that means unnecessary procedures on your teeth.Remember, once you let someone drill your teeth, that tooth will not grow back. Think twice if you do not typically have dental issues and this dentist keeps insisting you need procedures done.To end on a positive note, the staff, dental hygienists, and even Dr. Azhar are all friendly.
read more
Nikki Williamson Avatar
Nikki Williamson
3/05/2020
From the time My wife an I walked in nothing but smiles all threw the building. We love the Great Energy at Family Dental! Can't wait to see them Soon!!! GREAT SERVICE!!!Thank you again, Keith.W
read more
Keith Waller Avatar
Keith Waller
3/05/2018
Dr. Alvi is wonderful, personable and extremely competent. As an RN I can be quite critical of providers but I never felt anything other than respected and well cared for in this office. Her staff is efficient and friendly, and the worse thing about moving out of state is that I can no longer use this practice for my primary care.
read more
Bobbie Tornblom Avatar
Bobbie Tornblom
3/05/2017
One of the "Best patient care" from the min you schedule an appointment to the time you walk out after your check up. I was scheduling an appointment I could feel the smile on the front desk receptionist while talking to her. That really shows they love what they are doing. Top of it all Doctor is great. You really have to be great to have a great staff. Love you guys there. Thank you so much
read more
Washington Redskins Avatar
Washington Redskins
3/05/2019
Dr. Alvi @ Family Medical Wellness Center always treats me kindly with her expert as a medical doctor. She listen very carefully to what I (want to) say. More than satisfying!
read more
Jean Young Lee Avatar
Jean Young Lee
1/05/2022
Dr. Alvi and staff are very friendly and professional. They take good care of my husband and I, no matter what our medical needs are! Thank you, we really appreciate your help and bedside manner.
read more
Rhonkisha Graham Avatar
Rhonkisha Graham
7/05/2020
My first visit was quite professional as far as my introduction of my medical history and feedback I received from Dr ALVI on receiving a new patient. I was very impressed and she was recommended as a very good geriatric /internal medicine doctor.
read more
Gail Dorsey Avatar
Gail Dorsey
3/05/2017
Always good. Dr Alvi is lovely. She is always efficient and responsive, no matter how tired or stressed she might be. Office staff are excellent too.
read more
Sally Jones Avatar
Sally Jones
2/19/2021
I've been going to Dr. Alvi for almost 10 years. I couldn't be happier. Always attentive and answers all my questions. Office staff are friendly and accommodating.
read more
Brian Avaritt Avatar
Brian Avaritt
2/20/2023
she is so wonderful and kind. I am so glad she is my PCP
read more
Maribeth Hampton Avatar
Maribeth Hampton
11/05/2020
I have a pleasant experience every time I come to Dr. Alvi's office. She is thorough, and the staff is welcoming. Great services!
read more
meikar87 Avatar
meikar87
3/05/2016
I always get absolutely excellent care here. Nurse specialist Pinkrahe is highly competent , thorough, communicates well, listens well, is reassuring and professional yet has a kind and welcoming manner.
read more
Abbé Sidery Avatar
Abbé Sidery
10/05/2020
Always, first class treatment. Well organized front office and super professional PA's and nurses. Of course Dr. Alvi is the best!
read more
Eva Nelson Avatar
Eva Nelson
6/05/2021
Dr. Alvi and her staff are a rare gem in the Medical Industry. Dr. Alvi has been my PCP for the last 2 years since moving to Maryland. She is one of the few doctors I've come across that actually care about her patients. She shows empathy and has marvelous bed side manner. Her staff is friendly and go above and beyond to help out when they can. I have recommended her to several people and will continue to do so.
read more
Trina Ruark Avatar
Trina Ruark
3/05/2016
I have been a patient of the Family Medical Wellness Center for 5+ years and have never been happier with all of the services I have received. My questions have always been taken seriously and answered with resolution. I never feel rushed and always feel satisfied at the end of my visit. I cannot express how truly kind and helpful the staff of women are that Dr. Rubina has in the reception area. I feel welcome the moment I open the door to this practice. Cannot recommend Dr. Rubina and her staff highly enough.
read more
Maryjean Reiter Avatar
Maryjean Reiter
5/09/2021
I started coming to this office over three years ago when I worked in the area. They are absolutely fantastic. I no longer work in the area but continue to make the 30 minute drive for appointments as needed. The doctors are very thorough and attentive while having great bedside manner. Everyone from the doctors to the support staff are very friendly and personable. I used to dread doctors appointments with previous providers but not with this office. I recommend them to everyone!
read more
Kristie Myers Avatar
Kristie Myers
5/10/2021
Dr Alvi is great. I love having the opportunity to get blood work and a a pap smear all done right n her offices. She goes over everything and you don't feel rushed.
read more
Patty Mory Avatar
Patty Mory
4/05/2020
Really nice and friendly service ,of Dr Rubina and the staff !! Thanks for yours service …
read more
Tang T Avatar
Tang T
2/20/2024
Awesome staff/doctors. SO glad I switched to them years ago. Highly recommended.
read more
robert almond Avatar
robert almond
9/05/2020
Disgusted. The so called manager “Shannon” did nothing except defend and argue when I called upset how my daughter was treated by their NP. I was told my daughter didn’t look upset when she left among being given theories regarding what was said to my daughter and why even though she was not in the room nor is she a clinician. She went in for one thing but was basically body shamed for her weight. She is active and does many different activities from Cheer to riding to lacrosse. Not that I need to explain her being a little over weight. The NP went on and on about how she needed to lose weight and if she waited too long it would be to hard. Even after receiving a knowing glance to stop the breading from the adult in the room the NP turned and said “Oh, you aren’t happy?”. Her eight had nothing to do with her visit and she couldn’t even provide a diagnosis for the reason she was there! Only multiple guesses on what it may be. A 14 year old who is body shamed at school already and working on her weight does not need to be beraded by an overweight NP who isn’t even her doctor nor was this her physical appointment, which my daughter already had and we adreseed these concerns. She is seeking counseling because of the relentless bullying she has encountered in her life when she was heavier. I brought his to their attention that they should know better and I was told really, because she has had he referral for counseling for a few weeks and hasn’t used the referrral yet. ARE YOU SERIOUS!!??? Who are you to say that to me? My schedule is none of your concern and when I have or have not made an appt yet. I had to request the referral! I could write a book of the amount of digs and things I HAD TO DEFEND MYSELF AND MY DAUGHTER FOR from the manager. I have never encountered such treatment. My daughter is in no way obese and maybe you should worry more about a proper diagnosis for the visit at hand! NOT ONCE was I told by the “manager” I am sorry your daughter is upset or I am sorry that happened. Only excuses and arguing points which were ridiculous at best. Even going to the extreme of trying to tie in the comments about my daughters weight to the possible diagnosis. This is laughable, as the manager isn’t a clinician nor was she in the room where this correlation was in no way made at anytime. Absolutely disappointed after the years we have been going there that my daughter and I were treated so poor even after I brought the hurt to light. We will never go back. After all of his back and forth for 20 minutes, I said you know you couldn’t even say I am sorry. I was told of course they were sorry this happened. Wow.
read more
Sharon Greeson Avatar
Sharon Greeson
3/05/2019
NP Pinkrahe, was very sweet and kind! She was gentle and soft spoken, she listened to everything I said and was responding with nothing but positivity. She was great, and of course the amazing ladies in the front are always a pleasure to interact with!!
read more
Kanwal Mahmood Avatar
Kanwal Mahmood
10/05/2020
I noticed this family dental clinic that is located adjacent to family medical clinic few months ago, when I took my family; I casually sought a dental exam appointment after 10 years, I did not even carry my insurance card, staff are so patient, were able to found out my insurance so quickly. Wow so honest people! , front desk staff are so friendly, have excellent knowledge about insurance plans. Technicians are very talented , well trained and highly experienced ! Imagine the doctor runs the clinic ! She is so polite, well experienced, explains everything about the teeth issues to every patient in person . Finally I have beautiful teeth that notice after several years; very very happy that they took care of my teeth. They provide us excellent treatment plan with payment fee well in advance, very accurately tell us how much insurance pay for the treatment.Please visit the clinic with confidence and enjoy!
read more
Palchamy Elango Avatar
Palchamy Elango
3/05/2020
Dr. Alvi cares about her patients. She takes time to listen to concerns, collect data, and give informed advice/treatment. The office is quite modern and efficient with helpful online tools to make scheduling appointments, collecting patient info, and reviewing test results quick and convenient. I look forward to each visit.
read more
Candy Swift Avatar
Candy Swift
3/05/2017
It’s always so nice to see a smiling face and someone that genuinely cares about your health and issues . I have been coming here since they opened and when ever I had an emergency/Surgery that made room to get me in . It’s hard to find good care now a days but here I feel at home
read more
Head Chicken Tender Avatar
Head Chicken Tender
8/05/2020
Recently, I had my general checkup with Dr. Alvi. As always, I never feel rushed and she is very thorough. Dr. Alvi answers all my questions. The nursing and staff are on point and call me by name when I walk through the door. I love this office and am very happy to have Dr. Alvi as my doctor.
read more
Colleen Quinnhouse Avatar
Colleen Quinnhouse
6/05/2021
I started going to Dr Alvi because my primary doctor changed her way of taking patients. My son used Dr Alvi for several years and was totally satisfied with his care. That's why I decided to go to Dr Alvi. It's the best decision I've made for myself. I am very pleased with my care. She kind, caring and very patient. She's on top of all my health issues. I always recommend her to my friends in the area. Thank you
read more
Sheila Keller Avatar
Sheila Keller
7/05/2020
Dr. Alvi has been our family doctor for over 3 years now and she has been very polite in answering all our questions and addressing health concerns. Very happy to have her as our PCP.
read more
Shylaja P Avatar
Shylaja P
9/05/2020
Dr. Alvi, Jen and the entire staff are very attentive and patient-oriented - it is refreshing to find healthcare professionals who are concerned for the person and take the time to care.
read more
David Greene Avatar
David Greene
12/05/2020
Simple, fast, and pleasant experience with my virtual appointment with Dr, Alvi!!
read more
Stacy Wig Avatar
Stacy Wig
8/05/2020
See I'm alive and well. Plus I'm feeling GREAT! That speaks volumes of the Doctor's ability BECAUSE WE'RE GETTING OLD!
read more
g b Avatar
g b
2/19/2021
Love Dr. Alvi for her excellent patient care. I would recommend Dr. alvi to everyone.
read more
Shakila Jahan Avatar
Shakila Jahan
3/05/2018
Dr Alvin is a great doctor. I feel completely comfortable with her and appreciate her real concern for and attention to my care. She listens and addresses my questions without rushing through my visit. She is very responsive to messages and following up when I call the office.
read more
Dawn Steward Avatar
Dawn Steward
2/05/2021
Dr. Alvi is one of the best doctors I've seen in a long time. I feel seen, heard and understood. She is thorough and knowledgeable and leaves no stone unturned. I feel like I'm her only patient when she's in the room; she is fully present and you know you're in good hands.
read more
Dionne Gray Avatar
Dionne Gray
2/10/2021
I was trying to tell the nurse practitioner how depressed and hopeless I was feeling (along with the almost constant tightness in my chest and poor sleep) and she kind of just brushed it off as “that’s a part of life” and made it seem like I wasn’t really depressed.
read more
Hailey P Avatar
Hailey P
11/05/2020
My mother and sister are both their patients, and love this place, for its care and quality of service.
read more
Imtiaz Minhas Avatar
Imtiaz Minhas
3/05/2018
I hadn't been to the dentist in 2 years and they made my experience an awesome welcome back. When making my appointment they gave me the earliest appointment they had and called me back 2 times because they had new openings. Their efficiency is impeccable! Lovely staff, clean office, and quick service. Glad I was referred to this practice by my sister.
read more
Charmaine Taylor Avatar
Charmaine Taylor
3/05/2018
Try this new dentist since it was closer than the previous one I had and what a mistake I made. After I went for a normal cleaning they found some cavities, something that have not happen in years since I take good care of teeth. I got another appointment for filling and the service was so bad that my mouth hurt for a couple weeks. They try to get as much money as they can from you.After the filling they wanted me to get a night guard and put two crowns on healthy teeth. I will never come back here again. And recommend to everyone to be careful before coming to this place since they will do anything to get more money and for you to come back without reasoning.
read more
Jose De Jesus Avatar
Jose De Jesus
3/05/2019
The office was so busy and disorganized. I felt rushed and like I wasn't listened to. I felt judged by the doctor and left the office with more questions than answers. This just wasn't the right doctor/office for me.
read more
Lindsay Segal Avatar
Lindsay Segal
6/05/2021
I don’t have anything negative to say about the visit with them. I loved the nurse practitioner, Effie Pinkrahe!
read more
Amanda Davis Avatar
Amanda Davis
11/05/2020
My experience with the staff at Family Medical Wellness Center is always welcoming and comforting. I was so happy to get a face to face appointment in the midst of this ongoing pandemic. Pinkrahe and Brittany were so patient and helpful and made a difficult visit easier for me to get through. Soon as you walk through the door, the staff immediately greets you and quickly gets you all checked in with minimal wait time. Thank you again Pinkrahe and Brittany!
read more
Toni Meadows Avatar
Toni Meadows
8/05/2020
Have been going to this office for years. Love Dr. Alvi and the staff. Always so helpful. Dr. Alvi is very understanding. Never judgemental. Glad I found them
read more
Angela T Avatar
Angela T
6/05/2021
Nurse Practitioner Pinkrahe was very attentive. She listened to my concerns and examined me very well. She also made me feel very comfortable.
read more
Stephanie Nanton Avatar
Stephanie Nanton
2/05/2021
NCP Spranza took time to listen to my concerns. She was courteous, friendly and so were all the staff members. Based on my concerns, she provided good suggestions and recommendations.
read more
Suraj Girwan Thapa Avatar
Suraj Girwan Thapa
7/05/2020
Dr. Alvi, Ms. Melissa, NP and the entire office associates are superb and amazingly compassionate. Dr Alvi is an active listener and provides targeted and actionable counseling. They are 5 stars all the way 5) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
read more
Peiku Chandhok Avatar
Peiku Chandhok
4/30/2023
I have a terrible history of getting blood drawn due to rolling veins, and I typically pass out, so I drove all the way from Baltimore City just to get my blood drawn here the week before my physical appointment. 30+ years of PTSD from constantly having my veins blown or needles digging in my arm has caused me to avoid having my blood drawn at all costs. However, Deena (I hope I didn’t misspell it) was AMAZING. She was gentle, patient, helpful and kind, and she got my blood on the first stick. I did not pass out and it was over very quickly.
read more
Shannon R Avatar
Shannon R
2/20/2023
Had a very good experience with Dr. Alvi. She was thorough and took the needed time to answer all my questions, despite knocks of interruptions from staff, her time with me was focused on me. I really appreciated that.
read more
Nancy Deems Avatar
Nancy Deems
4/26/2023
Very satisfied with my tele-health (office closed due to covid) appointment and conversation with the nurse practitioner. She recommended to go to patient first for some tests which I received results on site.
read more
Lisa Giannetti Avatar
Lisa Giannetti
7/05/2020
I love this place.Me and my 4 kids have been patients with Dr.Azhar for the past 2 years and haven’t had any complains.The staff is very sweet and helpful and Dr.Azhar is a very efficient dentist.
read more
Sameera Ahmadi Avatar
Sameera Ahmadi
3/05/2020
I had to find a new doctor when my previous doctor of 20+ years would no longer see me without an very expensive annual fee upfront, which I could not afford.

Found Dr. Alvi and had a very satisfying get-acquainted visit, followed by my annual physical. She is a fine doctor, really listens and does a thorough job. I will certainly recommend her to others.
read more
Barry Jedrick Avatar
Barry Jedrick
5/09/2021
Dr Alvi and her staff are amazing. I’ve been coming to this office for 6 years and always feel heard, respected and well taken care of.
read more
Lindsay Nisbett Avatar
Lindsay Nisbett
2/20/2023
Update on Dec 2, 2020: My opinion about Dr Alvin's practice has not changed, in fact, it's been confirmed over and over. I have never had a bad experience here. I feel that Dr Alvi and her staff really listen and sincerely care, and it feels that their number 1 priority is the well-being of the patient. There is NEVER the feeling that this is a business because the staff runs all aspects so efficiently and flawlessly behind the scenes and all that's left is the feeling of holistic care, including questions about our mental and social well-being. I'm confident to be in good hands with them during this dangerous health crisis.Their medical assistants, nurses and other doctors demonstrate equal care and attention.Last but not least are the front desk staff, namely Jennie, who is super friendly and personable yet manages to multitask while acknowledging you when you walk in through the door. She'll be on the phone scheduling a patient and surprise me when I walk through the door and hand me my prescription refill without even needing to be asked, knowing exactly what I need in advance, without missing a beat in this busy and growing practice.Keep up the good work, everybody!*******************************These days you just can't find a doctor who will spend the time to review your health and really inquire into how you feel, your eating and exercise habits, your lifestyle. Dr. Alvi spends a good amount of time in the consultation room with patients and you can sense that she really cares.The last time I had a doctor like this was over 10 years ago, but he stopped taking insurance because insurance doesn't pay a doctor to spend time with patients.When is the last time you spent more time talking to the doctor than waiting in the lobby? And every member of the staff is friendly, professional and efficient.If I moved 2 hours away I would drive out of the way to stay with this practice.We all take the time to complain, but do we give credit where it's due? That's why I felt compelled to compliment a team which really deserves praise.I hope this office never changes.
read more
Dennis Meizys Avatar
Dennis Meizys
12/05/2020
Dr. Akinlade is fabulous! She has great bed side manner and is very thorough! Dr. Alvi has an incredible practice with an amazing team of professionals! They always fit me in and respond, I've never had to wait! And how convenient to have your dentist in the same space!
read more
Shelly McFarland Avatar
Shelly McFarland
3/20/2024
Everyone at this office is extremely kind and attentive. I have never felt more comfortable going to the doctor or dentist. Dr. Alvi is thorough and comforting, a combination that is difficult to come by. Dr. Azhar is respectful and detailed, my dental work here has gone wonderfully! Great staff!
read more
zainab malik Avatar
zainab malik
8/05/2021
That is the best rating i can give.
read more
ranjit kumar Avatar
ranjit kumar
3/05/2018
Effe is an excellent practitioner and staff are very caring. This review is for medical side not dental office.
read more
Bernice Aidoo Avatar
Bernice Aidoo
11/05/2020
I went here to get something checked out, and even though I had to get a referral to go to a specialist, I was pleased with my experience. The wait was pretty short for a doctor's office, and the doctor seemed competent. The assistants/techs were pleasant too. I will come here again when I need a check up.
read more
Young Anthony Avatar
Young Anthony
3/05/2017
Effie has a warm bedside manner, gives great feedback and professional suggestions, very caring and concern about her patients.
read more
Shemika Owens Avatar
Shemika Owens
12/05/2020
Dr Alvi. She is the best always and very friendly and very helpful always listen to you understand you and do her best for you. She is the superb
read more
Syed Yazdani Avatar
Syed Yazdani
2/05/2021
Dr. Alvi is always thorough, caring, and just a genuinely great doctor
read more
Matt Archibald Avatar
Matt Archibald
8/05/2020
Love this place! I've been to both the Medical side and the Dental side and liked both sisters equally. They're caring & knowledgeable, so I always feel like all of my needs are addressed. Plus the office itself is new & clean, and everyone uses iPads instead of paper charts.
read more
Sarah Kent Avatar
Sarah Kent
3/05/2016
The dentist Dr Azhar does great work. I just wish the staff was a little bit more professional. The dental hygienist was trying to make conversation while cleaning my teeth, but the questions were way too personal and unprofessional. Asking questions about my personal life made me super uncomfortable. If it wasn’t for the dentist knowing her stuff, I wouldn’t return here. The rooms aren’t enclosed at all, so everyone can hear the conversation. I don’t like random people in my business.
read more
Genie Calinda Avatar
Genie Calinda
3/05/2020
Clean facility, Doctor Alvi and her staff is very professional and courteous.
read more
Ali khan Avatar
Ali khan
6/05/2021
Another very good visit to Family Wellness Center. Everyone is so friendly and so helpful.
read more
Anne Pillow Avatar
Anne Pillow
3/15/2023
Dr Alvi has always been friendly and responsive. Highly Recommended
read more
Robert Henry Avatar
Robert Henry
6/05/2021
Staff was friendly and professional. The Physician I saw was knowledgeable and pleasant. Felt very at ease, and will definitely continue to use the wellness center as my new medical home.
read more
Rob Stokes Avatar
Rob Stokes
3/01/2021
Dr. Alvi is professional and she listened to you thoroughly.
read more
Mudassar Nazir Avatar
Mudassar Nazir
2/26/2021
My four teens and I have been patients at this center for the past year. Physicians and office personnel are very kind and know us by name when we come in:) I love that they can schedule appointments right away and the wait is short!
read more
Angela Harris Avatar
Angela Harris
3/05/2020
I always take the time to search high and low for an experienced and well versed doctor. I was THRILLED beyond words when I came across Dr. Alvi, and her amazing team of ladies that work there. She is BRILLIANT, has the perfect amount of empathy and follow through I have ever seen in a doctor. She is all about preventive care, and her wisdom on topics is unmatched. I have never been happier with a Healthcare provider. She goes above and beyond ... did I mention that she is absolutely brilliant? If I could giver her more than 5 stars, I would.
read more
Uyai E. Avatar
Uyai E.
2/18/2021
Dr.Alvi is really great. I am glad to chose her as my primary care physician. Recommended.
read more
Taner Budiyar Avatar
Taner Budiyar
6/05/2021
I had a pain free dental cleaning with Mellisa. She is great with her patient and very thorough. The office staff are happy and welcoming, the office is very clean and well run, and Dr, Azhar is a very capable professional. Thank you so much !
read more
nenita connelly Avatar
nenita connelly
3/05/2018
Great, thorough and very convienient!
read more
Dan Peoples Avatar
Dan Peoples
9/05/2020
dr alvi and dr azhar are simply put outstanding! Great service from secretaries, nurses and all staff! When I think of dr. alvi and dr. azhar, i think of great treatment and service!
read more
ed connelly Avatar
ed connelly
2/05/2021
I’ve continued to see Dr. Joe for my maintenance care throughout this pandemic. Incredibly impressed with the office cleanliness and I feel very safe. Dr. Joe is simply the best chiropractor in the area!!
read more
Riann Silliman Avatar
Riann Silliman
10/05/2020
Dr. Rubina Alvi and the staff are great. They are responsive and attentive to our needs. Time is taken to explain all issues.
read more
Tina Greene Avatar
Tina Greene
2/20/2024
The staff are warm, polite, courteous, and efficient! Drs Alvi and Azhar are caring and compassionate practitioners and are very thorough. I know I can trust these doctors and their staff!
read more
Maripaz Felix Avatar
Maripaz Felix
3/05/2019
You website indicates AND clearly reads, "SEDATION DENTISTRY" as one of several services provided. On 08/03/2020 1250 PM your office (female) stated to us, quote, "We don't offer sedation dentistry" "You need to go to an orthodontist" You need to educate your staff insofar as to what you do and do not offer and/or adjust the language on your website. And, we are not looking to have our family member(patient) put to sleep no less???
read more
HDThumper Avatar
HDThumper
8/05/2020
Dr. Alvi & staff are amazing. Always treated like Family and All staff go above and beyond for all there patients.
read more
Summer Escobar-Black Avatar
Summer Escobar-Black
8/05/2020
Dr Alvi is an excellent physician. She listens and gives excellent advice. Very competent. Her office staff is great!
read more
Anshu Sinha Avatar
Anshu Sinha
3/05/2017
Excellent service
read more
gowtham mandapati Avatar
gowtham mandapati
6/05/2021
Staff at front desk are rude and do not keep patients waiting of status such as provider running late. Very annoying to schedule appt and get there in advance of scheduled time and 30 min have gone by and no one says anything to you of status of your appt. Going to switch soon…..
read more
Sheila Jenkins Avatar
Sheila Jenkins
3/06/2023
Dr. Alvi is always so kind and thorough. Wonderful bedside manner!
read more
Kathryn Palmieri-Coonley Avatar
Kathryn Palmieri-Coonley
5/19/2023
Be carefull!!,they will charge you're credit card ,which they keep on file, and take you're money without any warning or notification of anything you may owe. Also brings you in when it's not nessasary,things that could be handled on the phone. Then on the dental side they charge you before they do the service and if you dont use (get the procedure scheduled)then the money they overcharged will take two weeks for you to get you're money back. They put money first over care or concern for the patient.they also lied to me about a blood pickup and didn't send my blood in and I had to give blood a second time.won't fill a prescription for you unless you pay for a visit. Not my kind of place. But the receptionists are nice.
read more
Terry M Avatar
Terry M
3/05/2018
My family and I have been seeing Dr. Alvi for years. I’ve always been treated kindly and felt like I was ALWAYS in good hands. The front desk employees are sooo sufficient and helpful ! Highly recommend to anyone who likes to be treated to a friend / family and not just another patient.
read more
Asia Phillips Avatar
Asia Phillips
12/05/2020
I had an appointment on the 26th at 11 AM on a weekday and took leave from work to attend. My phone died, and when I asked the staff what time it was, they said it was 11:40 AM. Despite arriving on time, I was made to wait. When I mentioned needing to leave soon due to work, the staff member responded rudely. Even after waiting for an additional 10 minutes, I saw people who arrived after me being called in before me. The staff's attitude was dismissive and disrespectful throughout. Despite my attempts to address the situation, I was met with hostility. Eventually, I left the office feeling disrespected, frustrated, and disheartened. It's disappointing to see such poor treatment from a place where I've been a long-time patient.
read more
Ladane omar Avatar
Ladane omar
2/05/2024
The staff is friendly and the doctor takes her time with you. My husband went to the dentist side and totally recommended it. You are normally in and out with in a reasonable time and the wait period is minimal, Dr. Alvi really listen's to your concerns and is a compassionate caring doctor.My husband and I are moving and will have to find a new Doctors office, wish they were in Bel Air.
read more
Sara Amato Avatar
Sara Amato
3/05/2016
I've been going here for years and Dr Alvi is amazing! Really listens and cares.
read more
A Hughes Avatar
A Hughes
3/05/2024
Love everyone thar works their. They're always so nice. Even had a problem with getting things done.
read more
Bonnie Carlisle Avatar
Bonnie Carlisle
3/05/2017
Unprofessional . Got there and that is when they told me my insurance didn’t go through instead of telling me on the phone . Assistant at the front desk read and put all my information wrong . Do not go here !!!!!!
read more
Tiffany Bruce Avatar
Tiffany Bruce
3/05/2018
I go to both the medical and dental sides of this practice. This is by far the best medical experience I've ever had. I felt listened to and respected and was given the referrals I needed. I am thankful I found this practice! I've had fillings from the dental side and full medical visit at the medical side of the practice. I love that both are co-located in the same building. Staff worked with me to understand my insurance benefits and I knew ahead of time what I would be expected to pay. As with any small, independent medical practice, sometimes there can be some workflow issues with wait times or front desk communications, but that is common to any site with a small staff. The front desk staff are friendly and willing to work with you when you have questions. Overall, I love this practice and highly recommend it!
read more
Lydia Stewart Avatar
Lydia Stewart
3/05/2019
Dr Alvi and her staff are always very friendly and cordial, she always makes me feel much better as she has a terrific interaction with her patients.. I am not very comfortable with Doctor's but she has a way of making me feel at ease.. I highly recommend her and her staff!
read more
Eric Winemiller Avatar
Eric Winemiller
9/05/2020
Dr. Alvi is always kind to answer your questions and listens patiently. She never rushes her diagnosis and makes sure you are comfortable throughout the appointment and also explains the checkup beforehand. She is generally on time at her appointments (longest I may have waited is 15 mins which is not very long by patient-doctor waiting standards). She comes across as a sweet person and is always very warm and accommodating.
read more
Nisha Mada Avatar
Nisha Mada
8/05/2020
Dr. Alvi and her staff are fantastic! Dr. Alvi follows-up on every health issue. She connects all of my medical reports to provide a cohesive healthcare and advice. Her staff are friendly and the facility is ultra clean and comfortable. I highly recommend Dr. Alvi as a primary internal medicine doctor.
read more
Trina Porter Avatar
Trina Porter
6/05/2021
I love the staff they are all friendly & very helpful! Mrs. Spranza is wonderful & takes the time to listen to your concerns & addresses them in the best way possible
read more
Rachael Evans Avatar
Rachael Evans
9/05/2020
Best service and great people. Im so lucky to have found this office.
read more
Onesha Oliver Avatar
Onesha Oliver
3/05/2020
Great staff, Deana helped me,
read more
Mintu Pinky Avatar
Mintu Pinky
2/20/2023
I have been a patient of the Family Medical Wellness Center for 5+ years and have never been happier with all of the services I have received. My questions have always been taken seriously and answered with resolution. I never feel rushed and always feel satisfied at the end of my visit. I cannot express how truly kind and helpful the staff of women are that Dr. Alvi has in the reception area. I feel welcome the moment I open the door to this practice. Cannot recommend Dr.Alvi and her staff highly enough.
read more
Maryjean Reiter Avatar
Maryjean Reiter
6/05/2021
My family and I have gone there a few times. The hygienists were always nice. I got 18 X-rays for my teeth though. I think that's a little overkill so I asked Dr. Azhar about it and said I've never had that many at once even at my previous dentist (from North. VA who I think was seriously the best). Dr. Azhar said that I must've never had a thorough dental screening then. All throughout my life I have enjoyed going to the dentist, but after getting my regular cleanings at this place I come away with sensitive teeth. Dr. Azhar would always tell me to make sure I floss daily and to wear a night guard because she sees some wear. Well, I've flossed daily and worn a night guard for as long as I can remember. So I don't know what she's seeing in there... All my life I've had very healthy teeth, and she is the first to critique instead of encourage me to keep doing what I'm doing.Also when I refused fluoride treatment, I got weird looks like I was an idiot. Don't people know fluoride is not risk-free?? The links between fluoride and tooth decay are questionable, at best. But there are definite links between fluoride and hindering thyroid function (I'm sure other health risks too). I already have thyroid problems so I especially need to avoid fluoride.Also, my least favorite thing about this office is the billing. We would always tell them that we only wanted to get done what our insurance would cover and they said they could do that (my previous dentist in North. VA would be especially careful and understanding about this). We'd always pay everything before we left the office too. But it just so happens that over a year after we move out of state, they decide to call us up and tell us that we owe them for an X-ray that insurance decided not to cover. What?? Over a YEAR later?? Our insurance is also different now that we've moved. We even informed them of our move after our last visit. They said they mailed multiple bills (obviously to the wrong address), but they have our other contact info and apparently decided to not use it till they were ready to send it to a collection agency. I don't know how they can get away with that, but we went ahead and paid it because a collection agency is bad news.Update: They refunded us for the Xray. +1
read more
Kathy Me Avatar
Kathy Me
3/05/2018
Dr. Rubina Alvi is very attentive and caring. She will look beyond the stated/obvious and treat you for everything you need. Highly recommend her as a physician.
read more
Gaby Irizarry Avatar
Gaby Irizarry
6/05/2021
Effie is an excellent practitioner; I could not have been more pleased with my visit. She was very thorough to insure her understanding of my history was clear. My appointment was not rushed, she treated me like I was her only patient. Effie is truly an asset to Dr. Alvi’s practice.
read more
Ingrid Shanklin Avatar
Ingrid Shanklin
8/05/2020
I love the staff here at Family Medical Wellness Center. They are personable and professional, above all they care. In my past experience with other medical professionals I didn't always sense that. I am glad to be a patient at the Elkridge, MD location. Also the facility is clean and well lit.
read more
Jillyann Frenche Avatar
Jillyann Frenche
7/05/2020
Update on Dec 2, 2020: My opinion about Dr Alvin's practice has not changed, in fact, it's been confirmed over and over. I have never had a bad experience here. I feel that Dr Alvi and her staff really listen and sincerely care, and it feels that their number 1 priority is the well-being of the patient. There is NEVER the feeling that this is a business because the staff runs all aspects so efficiently and flawlessly behind the scenes and all that's left is the feeling of holistic care, including questions about our mental and social well-being. I'm confident to be in good hands with them during this dangerous health crisis.

Their medical assistants, nurses and other doctors demonstrate equal care and attention.

Last but not least are the front desk staff, namely Jennie, who is super friendly and personable yet manages to multitask while acknowledging you when you walk in through the door. She'll be on the phone scheduling a patient and surprise me when I walk through the door and hand me my prescription refill without even needing to be asked, knowing exactly what I need in advance, without missing a beat in this busy and growing practice.

Keep up the good work, everybody!

*******************************

These days you just can't find a doctor who will spend the time to review your health and really inquire into how you feel, your eating and exercise habits, your lifestyle. Dr. Alvi spends a good amount of time in the consultation room with patients and you can sense that she really cares.

The last time I had a doctor like this was over 10 years ago, but he stopped taking insurance because insurance doesn't pay a doctor to spend time with patients.

When is the last time you spent more time talking to the doctor than waiting in the lobby? And every member of the staff is friendly, professional and efficient.

If I moved 2 hours away I would drive out of the way to stay with this practice.

We all take the time to complain, but do we give credit where it's due? That's why I felt compelled to compliment a team which really deserves praise.

I hope this office never changes.
read more
Dennis Meizys Avatar
Dennis Meizys
12/02/2020
Dr. Alvi is a wonderful doctor! She took the time to understand my health and life experience, and she patiently answered all my questions. I feel lucky to have her as my physician…..she really embodies the family doctor that we all want to take care of us.
read more
GM Vienna Avatar
GM Vienna
5/09/2021
I visited the family dental wellness center recently and was very pleased with the doctor and staffs' professionalism. The doctor explained what she found, and how she would proceed. They were polite and very attentive. I will be going back.
read more
Joann Schemm Avatar
Joann Schemm
3/05/2020
Went to Dr. Alvi for a routine visit and asked her a question that I had about something going on, she recommended a lab test which I agreed to. I know I have a high deductible, but didn't expect to pay $300 for the test... Oh well, that's the insurance I'm able to have...However, the office charged me a second office visit fee in addition to the one I was already being invoiced for. Two office visits for me being physically in the office once. Now I am being billed for another office visit that I have to pay out of pocket...At a prior visit, I asked the doctor to address an additional concern at the time of my routine physical. I ended up happily walking out with a prescription and was only billed for my labwork, not an additional office visit fee for asking my question. If I do return, I guess I'll make sure to keep my visits limited to only routine work. Office visit fees on top of having to pay out of pocket for all lab work really add up for students without a full time income.
read more
J. Bartoš Avatar
J. Bartoš
3/05/2017
called on short notice,that I was out of meds, by end of dy received a call from Pharmcist it was ready for pickup, which shows a good caregiver is hard, I found mine.
read more
Stephen Mexia Avatar
Stephen Mexia
6/05/2021
I had a wonderful experience with Effie Pinkrahe today at my annual physical. She was thorough, considerate, and gave me very helpful and pragmatic next steps that I hadn't considered. I don't usually leave reviews, but I just really felt heard and like I actually have options and direction moving forward. That is special!
read more
Lauren Brick Avatar
Lauren Brick
9/05/2020
I always feel very well taken care of from start to finish of my visit. The ladies at the front desk are always so kind, informative, and helpful. I feel heard by the practitioners and not rushed to explain my issues/concerns. Highly recommend visiting Family Medical Wellness Center!
read more
Alexandria Gutierrez Avatar
Alexandria Gutierrez
1/21/2021
Very nice and helpful
read more
Kevin Reed Avatar
Kevin Reed
1/05/2021
The Family Medical Wellness Center is a very professional clinic. The doctors and the staff are very cordial and competent. I would recommend this center to all my friends and acquaintances.
read more
Zeba Sabuhi Avatar
Zeba Sabuhi
6/05/2021
I had a wonderful first experience with NP Effie Pinkrahe. She was warm, considerate and patient. Finding medical professionals with compassionate caring bedside manners is not always a given. I am thoroughly pleased to have found her and Family Medical Center. Additionally, I am grateful for her follow up to my EKG results and referring me to another warm caring medical professional.
read more
Dana Nichelle Avatar
Dana Nichelle
1/05/2021
This doctor, whom my dad visited, failed to recognize that a medication prescribed by another doctor was harmful to his health as it exacerbated his asthma. Despite his concerns, she dismissed them and kept him on the medication. He had to seek a second opinion elsewhere to rectify the issue, highlighting the negligence of this office regarding patient health. The high turnover of nurses and doctors also raises concerns about the office's priorities. It's evident that profit outweighs patient care in Dr. Alvi's office, leading to a loss of respect for both the doctor and the establishment.
read more
Sight Ihsan Avatar
Sight Ihsan
2/05/2024
Awesome, professional and extremely knowledgeable providers. Thank you.
read more
Anthony Johnson Sr Avatar
Anthony Johnson Sr
2/05/2021
I always feel so comfortable and we are always greeted as soon as we walk into the Family Medical Wellness Center. The staff is very warm and friendly and we never feel rushed through the appointment. Dr. Alvi is great with both my boys, always talking to them like a concerned parent, I really can see and tell it is always genuine. Love that she is my son's doctor and that this is our Medical center.
read more
Kisha Avatar
Kisha
5/09/2021
I really love everyone that is there, especially Dr.Alvi. I feel very comfortable when I go there. I like the convenience of how close it is.
read more
Bonnie Schmelyun Avatar
Bonnie Schmelyun
3/05/2017
Please go somewhere else and save your money. The worst by far!
read more
tina yani Avatar
tina yani
3/05/2020
Everyone was very friendly, valued my time and listened attentively.
read more
jen patro Avatar
jen patro
12/05/2020
Effe is an excellent practitioner and staff are very caring. This review is for medical side not dental office.
read more
Adwoa Ode Avatar
Adwoa Ode
3/05/2021
Dr. Alvi and her staff are tremendous! Dr. Alvi literally saved my life by having my PSA checked in my new patient visit. She immediately referred me to an Urologist who determined I had Prostate Cancer. Thankfully I was able to beat it through radiation treatment. Also, Dr. Alvi's staff is very kind, courteous, and helpful. I highly recommend Dr. Alvi and her practice.
read more
Wlliam Snook Avatar
Wlliam Snook
6/05/2021
I love the office staff and my primary care doctor Rubina Alvi.I can recommend this office to every one.
read more
Janos Csorba Avatar
Janos Csorba
3/05/2017
I find Dr. Alvi to be very competent, helpful, personable and compassionate. You cannot ask for anything more in a physician.
read more
Phil Cogan Avatar
Phil Cogan
1/05/2021
Dr. Alvi is very nice and personable. She took her time and ensured that i was up to date on all my records. I would recommend Dr. Alvi.
read more
Arthur Fenner Avatar
Arthur Fenner
2/05/2021
Dr. Alvi @ Family Medical Wellness Center is always accept me kindly with her expert as a medical doctor. SHe is always listen to what I (want to) say. More than satisfying!
read more
Jean Young Lee Avatar
Jean Young Lee
2/05/2021
I am a patient of both Dr Azhar and Dr. Alvi. I came to Dr. Alvi initially, desperate to find a primary care physician, after being denied care by my insurance elsewhere. It was my lucky day to find Dr. Alvi, who took time to review my complicated case, pull together the needed resources, and refer me to a superb cardiologist. Dr. Alvi and that Cardiologist, Dr. Kim, saved my life! Together they were responsible for diagnosing a blocked coronary artery which was on the verge of causing a massive heart attack. I had a 3 vessel bypass only 10 days after first meeting Dr. Alvi. She is a fantastic, thorough, well educated, compassionate physician. I cannot praise her or her practice enough and I get all my primary care there. I also see Dr. Azhar for dental care and she is also a talented, compassionate and careful doc. She took excellent care of a fractured front tooth which is now better than ever. Her preventive care is the best I've ever had. By the way, I'm also a physician and a pretty good judge of medical care!.
read more
Susan Larson Avatar
Susan Larson
3/05/2016
Best staff ever. Truly the nicest people in an office you'll ever meet. Very caring Np and Dr. Make this place your go to for medical care and you'll be very happy!
read more
Lynn Satche Avatar
Lynn Satche
11/05/2020